The Presidential Scholars Foundation has named three outstanding members of our community as honorees who will be recognized at the Second Annual Presidential Scholars Honors dinner at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. on the evening of June 25, 2018.

The awards dinner will be followed by the Salute to the 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars performance by the 2018 Arts Scholars in partnership with the National YoungArts Foundation.

The 2018 Honorees

We are thrilled to announce the 2018 Presidential Scholars Honors Award Recipients. The Roosevelt “Rosey” Thompson awardees are; Martha Bergmark (1966, MS) an advocate for civil rights and justice for all; and Eugene Robinson (1970, SC) the Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for The Washington Post. Jane Case Williams, the Executive Director of the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program during the 1970s who was influential in the expansion of the National Recognition Program and also the addition of Arts Scholars, will receive the Dr. Felice Kaufmann Award.

    Special Guests


    The Awards

    The Roosevelt “Rosey” Thompson award was created to honor the memory of Rosey Thompson, a 1980 Presidential Scholar. Each year we will honor Rosey’s commitment to excellence in public service by choosing exceptional Presidential Scholars alumni who embody the outstanding qualities of civil service that Rosey exemplified daily.

    The Dr. Felice Kaufmann Award was created to recognize individuals outside the ranks of Presidential Scholar alumni in celebration of their efforts to support and understand Presidential Scholars or to support the U. S. Presidential Scholars Program, Foundation, or Alumni Association. Dr. Felice Kaufmann received the inaugural award in 2017.

    Information on Event Sponsorships

    Silver Medallion Sponsor


    Table Sponsors

    Alumni Board and Anniversaries Committee
    Brian Abrams
    Gobi Partners
    John Knox
    Cathy Randall
    Thomas G. Tsao
    University of Georgia

    Inaugural Presidential Scholars Dinner and Salute - June 19, 2017

    The inaugural event honored three outstanding former Presidential Scholars: Chief Judge Merrick Garland (1970, IL), former governor of Indiana and President of Purdue University Mitchell E. Daniels Jr. (1967, IN), and Poet Laureate Rita Dove (1970, OH). Presidential Scholars researcher Dr. Felice Kaufmann received the inaugural Dr. Felice Kaufmann Award for a non-Scholar. 

    Photos from the 2017 event can be seen here.