Contact:               Jennifer Freeman, Executive Director, Presidential Scholars Foundation
Cell:                       720-273-9861

Presidential Scholars Foundation to Honor Alumni:
Chief Judge Merrick Garland, Poet Rita Dove,
and Purdue University President Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr.

Washington D.C - The Presidential Scholars Foundation is honoring three alumni at its inaugural Presidential Scholars Honors (The Kennedy Center, June 19, 2017) for their accomplishments and contributions to a civil society and advancement of educational opportunities: Chief Judge Merrick Garland (Scholar from Illinois, 1970), Pulitzer Prize winner and former U.S. Poet Laureate Rita Dove (Scholar from Ohio, 1970), and Purdue University President and former Governor of Indiana Mitchell E. Daniels (Scholar from Indiana, 1967). They will receive the first Roosevelt "Rosey" Thompson Award, named after the 1980 Presidential Scholar-phenom from Arkansas: high school Valedictorian, National Merit Scholar, Yale undergraduate, Phi Beta Kappa, Rhodes Scholar pick, star athlete in high school and college, and student who achieved a perfect LSAT score. Rosey was tragically killed in a car accident just months before heading to Oxford on a Rhodes Scholarship.

“We could not have chosen more worthy honorees for the inaugural Roosevelt “Rosey” Thompson awards. President Daniels, Rita Dove, and Chief Judge Garland have all, personally and professionally, contributed to society in a way that reflects Rosey’s ideals” said Presidential Scholars Foundation Board President and Chair Brian T. Abrams (1996 Scholar from Colorado).

In addition, the Foundation will honor educational researcher Dr. Felice Kaufmann with an inaugural award in her name for her interest in and support of U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Presidential Scholar in the Arts alumnus, India Carney (Arts Scholar from New York in 2011), will sing at the event. India is a singer, songwriter, arranger and actress.

Event Details (
Location:               Roof Terrace Restaurant at The Kennedy Center, 2700 F St NW, Washington, DC 20566
Date:                     Monday, June 19, 2017
5:00 pm                Registration and Cocktails
5:45 pm                Program begins and dinner is served
7:45 pm                Program and dinner conclude
8:00 pm                Salute to the 2017 Scholars performance, Kennedy Center Concert Hall
                             (presented by National YoungArts Foundation)

About the Presidential Scholars Foundation: The Presidential Scholars Foundation cultivates, connects, and celebrates U.S. Presidential Scholars – past and present. The Foundation’s goal, in partnership with the Presidential Scholars Alumni Association is to advance the arts, culture, business, education, and civic life of the nation by connecting U.S. Presidential Scholars locally, nationally and around the globe to each other.

Each year, only 161 students are named U.S. Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students. Newly named scholars are honored in Washington D.C. during a National Recognition Program. The Scholars, who come from all walks of life and excel in their academic and artistic achievements, represent the promise of greatness in young people and go on to be influential in their fields. There are currently more than 7,000 Scholars making extraordinary advances in their fields of interest.

The Presidential Scholars Foundation is a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization which operates independently of the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program and the White House Commission on U.S. Presidential Scholars.